About Me

Hi there! My name is Dixie. I'm a twenty-something tutor, former teacher and now work at home mommy. I graduated from The University of Texas at Austin, HOOK 'EM HORNS, in 2007 and began my teaching career in San Antonio in 2008. I've taught kindergarten, first and second grade. I taught for five years and for four of those years I was the inclusion teacher. I love, love, love inclusion teaching. I think it's challenging but also SO rewarding. I love ALL things elementary. 

I have a very supportive husband named Marcus. We've known each other since middle school. We are both huge college football fans. Unfortunately he roots for the wrong team...my husband went to Texas A&M. We started dating in college, so we both spent a lot of time at the other's school. We have a lot of fun with our little house divided. Half of my family is from Alabama, so when I'm not rooting for the Longhorns I'm pulling for the Tide! :)


Marcus and I have a 17 month old son named Jackson. He is the light of our lives!! I truly cannot imagine my life without him. He is such a blessing and I thank God for him every day!








Jackson is about to be a big brother. I am due with our second son on Easter of this year (2014). We are naming him Brandon after one of my favorite former students. (Kind of like the Chrysanthemum story!)

I started this blog in 2012 as a hobby. I was pregnant with Jackson and it was the middle of summer. It was VERY hot outside and I was VERY pregnant. So staying indoors and blogging all day sounded like a GREAT idea. :) I had Jackson soon after that summer and the blog took a backseat to my new life in Mommyville.

I continued to teach and blog sporadically until June 2013. It was then that my husband and I decided it was best for our family if I stay home with our son (and future children) to raise them. It was very excited but also very scary. Living off of one income was a huge shock for us but it got a little easier and easier. I still miss those random shopping trips to Target where you go for an item or two and walk out with a $200 bill. Ahhh...the good ole days!! But honestly, being home with my baby and raising the way I want him to be raised beats those little luxuries any day! :)

Like I said earlier, I am a work at home mommy now. I am beginning to home school Jackson (my own form of pre, pre, pre K) as well as run my blog and TpT/TN shops. Any free time I have I am creating units for my teacher friends or for my son and nephew. I'm also trying to keep up with my home and eventually I'd like to do all those cool DIY projects I pin on Pinterest...not sure when that will happen with baby number two on the way! 

Thanks for sticking with me this long! If you have any questions for me please email me at teachinlittletexans@gmail.com. I love to meet new bloggy friends!


1 comment:

  1. Seems like an awesome app! I teach first grade so I'll have to check it out.

    Yay for a fellow Texas teacher blogger!

    Bryce
    Second Grade Stampede

    ReplyDelete